Tags

, ,

Some have asked about my water storage as I didn’t build in the designed tanks. I liked the idea of built in tanks and water catchment plumbing but for my personal use I figured to do something different. I ended up using the water tank area for storing other items (batteries and chain). That left the battery area forward of bulkhead 2 open to store something else.

Before the deck went on I tried fitting in all sorts of milk crates and plastic buckets in many different configurations. I finally settled on milk crates for the aft storage area and 3 square food grade plastic buckets in the “forward stateroom”, as some call it. I epoxied tall guide tracks on the floor to keep them in place. I should have also devised something to keep them anchored in a rollover situation but still haven’t gotten to it.

IMG_0540.JPG
With these buckets I find it easy to adjust the trim of the boat by adding or subtracting weight. Each bucket will hold up to 4 gallons of water or anything else for that matter.

IMG_0549.JPG

IMG_0548-0.JPG
The fitting in the lid is made from common PVC and CPVC fittings, the long tube is to make sucking water out a bit easier near the bottom and is removable if you wanted to fill the buckets with canned goods,dried beans, small change or whatever else you decide to carry.

When I tested the buckets upside down and filled with water, they leaked a tiny bit, so I put a thin piece of weatherstripping in the groove of the lid to make them much more water tight.

I’m happy with how they worked out and like that I could fill them with water or food or a combo, whichever is needed for the current cruising area. They are also easily removable, cleanable and replaceable.

