Tags

,

As nice as the sandbar was I decided not to stay another day. Somewhat of a theme on this trip. If I don’t feel like hanging around I just sail to the next stop.

Pulled up anchor about 4am. Took me awhile to get out of the bay and clear the point, which meant I was going to be cutting it close for sunset. I spent the entire day trying to get the most out of the sail while the tiller pilot did the hard work. Speeds gradually increased as the day continued. By the time I was off koko head and diamond head the following seas were getting pretty steep and I was surfing up to 5.5-6.5 knots on many waves. Roughest passage of the trip so far.

20140701-151246-54766428.jpg
But here it is, Waikiki.

Ask anyone who’s been to the Ala Wai recently and they will tell you what a nightmare the rules and regulations are. So I won’t go into it here. Let’s just say I will be doing the minimum and moving on. Admittedly it’s not all as bad as this picture but it’s the feeling that I get from the place.

20140701-152236-55356824.jpg
Anyhow, laundry, groceries, new tiller pilot and I’m out.

